The Guam Ethics Commission is an independent and autonomous instrumentality within the Government of Guam, whose purpose is to hold officers and employees accountable to the Ethical standards established in Guam law. The Ethics Commission shall prescribe a process for receiving complaints, investigating the facts, conducting hearings, and rendering opinions on whether any violation of the standard of conduct for officials and employees have been violated.

First established in 1996 via Public Law 23-105, The Commission is composed of seven (7) individuals who have been appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Guam Legislature. Each member serves a four (4) year term provided that no person is to be appointed for more than 2 terms. Commissioners must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Guam and must not be employed or have any member of their immediate family employed by the Government of Guam. The Commission remained inactive until 2019 when acting Governor Joshua F. Tenorio, in coordination with Governor Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero signed Executive Order 2019-06 reactivitating the Commission and directing the Civil Service Commission to provide support in the interim period. The 35th Guam Legislature later confirmed the first six (6) members to the Commission as well as provided the Commission’s first fiscal appropriation for Fiscal Year 2021.

In May 2021, Governor Leon Guerrero signed and enacted Public Law 36-28, authored by Sen. Joe S. San Agustin to reaffirm the Guam Ethics Commission as an independent and autonomous agency within the Government of Guam.